Benedict Seal

Home
Benedict College
College DirectoryNewsCommunityContact Us

Baseball

Schedule 2008

DATE                                      OPPONENT                         PLACE                  TIME

February 1-3                         HBCU Baseball Tournament    Miami, FL   TBA

Tuesday February 5            Coker College                    Hartsville, SC      3:00 p.m.
Score: 3 - 21 (L)

Friday, February 8               Miles College                     Columbia, SC      2:00 p.m.
Score: 11 - 8 (W)

Saturday February 9          Bluefield State University   Columbia, SC  12:00 p.m.+
Scores: 3 - 6 (L), 5 - 6 (L)

Sunday February 10          Lincoln University             Columbia, SC      12:00 p.m.+
Scores:  6 - 3 (W), 16 - 6 (W)

Monday February 11          Lincoln University             Columbia, SC      2 :00 p.m.
Score: 16 - 0 (W)

Friday February 15             St. Paul's College              Columbia, SC      3:00 p.m.
Canceled

Saturday February 16       St. Paul's College              Columbia, SC      12:00 p.m. +
Canceled

Sunday February 17          Alderson Broaddus College  Columbia, SC  12:00 p.m.
Scores: 2 - 10 (L), 5 - 12 (L)

Tuesday February 19        Savannah College of Art & Design  Columbia, SC  5:00 p.m.
Scores: 5 - 2 (W)

Wednesday February 20      Georgia College & State Univ  Milledgeville, GA  TBA
Score: 5 - 15 (L)

Friday February 22              St. Augustine's College    Raleigh, NC        12:00 +
Canceled

Saturday February 23         St. Augustine's College    Raleigh, NC        1:00 p.m.

Tuesday February 26          Erskine College                Due West, SC     2:00 p.m.
Score: 2 - 9 (L)

Wednesday February 27  NC Central Univ.                Columbia, SC      2:00 p.m.+
Canceled

Thursday February 28        Voorhees College             Denmark, SC      12:00 p.m.
Score: 12 - 6 (W)

Friday February 29             Shaw University                Columbia, SC      1:00 p.m.
Scores: 6 - 8 (L)

Saturday March 1              Clark Atlanta University  Columbia, SC      12:00 p.m.+
Scores: 5 - 7 (L), 19 - 1 (W)

Sunday March 2                 Clark Atlanta University  Columbia, SC      1:00 p.m.
Scores: 13 - 12 (W)

Monday March 3                Savannah State Univ.       Columbia, SC      3:00 p.m.
Scores: 3 - 4 (L)

Tuesday March 4                Lander Tournament

Thursday March 6               Paine College                     Augusta, GA        12:00 p.m.+*
Scores: 6 - 10 (L), 3 - 5 (L)

Monday, March 10             St. Augustine's College   Columbia, SC      12:00 p.m.+
Scores: 5 - 4 (W), 3 - 2 (W)

Wednesday March 12      Elizabeth City State           Columbia, SC      5:00 p.m.
Score: 8 - 10 (L)

Thursday, March 13          Elizabeth City State           Columbia, SC     2:00 p.m.
Score: 6 - 10 (L)

Saturday March 15              Morehouse College          Atlanta, GA           12:00 p.m.+*
Canceled

Sunday March 16                Morehouse College           Atlanta, GA           1:00 p.m. *

Tuesday, March 18            Morris College                   Columbia, SC      2:00 p.m.
Score: 11 - 1 (W)

Thursday, March 20          Voorhees College             Columbia, SC      3:00 p.m. +
Score: 11 - 10 (W), 6 - 8 (L)

Saturday, March 22           Tuskegee University           Montgomery, AL  12:00 p.m. +*
Scores: 13 - 11 (W), 2 - 0 (W)

Sunday, March 23              Tuskegee University          Montgomery, AL  1:00 p.m. *
Score: 14 - 4 (W)

Wednesday March 26       USC Aiken                           Aiken, SC             6:00 p.m.

Thursday March 27           Paine College                     Augusta, GA        2:00 p.m.*
Score: 5 - 12 (L)

Saturday March 29          Kentucky State University  Columbia, SC    12:00 p.m. +*
Scores: 15 - 9 (W), 6 - 5 (W)

Sunday March 30             Kentucky State University   Columbia, SC   1:00 p.m.*
Scores: 20 - 10 (W)

Tuesday April 1                 Coker College                     Columbia, SC      6:00 p.m.
Canceled

Thursday April 3              Morris College                     Sumter, SC          2:00 p.m.
Score: 17 - 0 (W)

Saturday April 5                  Albany State University      Albany, GA           12:00 p.m.+*
Postponed

Sunday April 6                    Albany State University       Albany, GA          1:00 p.m.*
Scores: 10 - 8 (W), 4 - 8 (L)

Tuesday April 8                  Georgia College State Univ.  Columbia, SC  4:00 p.m.
Score: 5 - 10 (L)

Saturday April 12              Claflin University                Columbia, SC     12:00 p.m.+*
Score: 4 - 15 (L)

Sunday April 13                 Claflin University                Columbia, SC     1:00 p.m. *
Scores: 6 - 5 (W), 12 - 1 (W)

Monday April 14                 Erskine College                   Columbia, SC    2:30 p.m.
Score: 2 - 18 (L)

April 16-19                          SIAC Spring Baseball Championship - Stillman College
(Tuscaloosa, AL)

+ Denote Doubleheaders         * Conference Games           Home games in Bold

ALL HOME GAMES WILL BE PLAYED AT CAPITAL CITY STADIUM ON ASSEMBLY STREET.

Head Coach/SID: Derrick A. Johnson
Assistant Coach: Antonio Lucas
Volunteer Assistant Coach: William Demond Brown
Statistician: Grady Gibson
Athletic Director: Willie Washington
President: Dr. David H. Swinton

For more information call (803) 705-4535


The Tigers Baseball Team finished the 2007 season with a record of 16 - 24 (8 - 9 Conference).

In the SIAC Spring Championships 2006, the Baseball Team finished in 4th place.


Articles:

  Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumniFaculty & StaffCommunityFullfilling the Dream