Benedict Seal

Benedict College
College DirectoryNewsCommunityContact UsDivSearch

Athletics Department - News

Benedict to Host 2007 Pioneer Bowl

October 10, 2007


[Columbia, SC] The 10th Annual Pioneer Bowl will be hosted by Benedict College in Columbia, SC at the new Charlie W. Johnson Football Stadium. The game will be played on December 1, 2007 at 2:00 p.m. The "Pioneer Bowl" is a contest between the top teams of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) and the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (CIAA). The "Bowl's" first contest was in 1997 between the Kentucky State University Thorobreds and the Livingstone College Blue Bears. Since the inception of the game, Tuskegee University has represented the SIAC nine times. The SIAC leads the series with 7 wins and 2 losses.


1997 Kentucky State 30, Livingstone 26 Herndon Stadium Atlanta, GA
1998 Tuskegee 23, Livingstone 9 Herndon Stadium Atlanta, GA
1999 Winston-Salem State 23, Tuskegee 7 Georgia Dome Atlanta, GA
2000 Tuskegee 12, Winston-Salem State 9 Georgia Dome Atlanta, GA
2001 Tuskegee 28, Virginia Union 0 Georgia Dome Atlanta, GA
2002 Tuskegee vs. Bowie State (Cancelled) Raymond James Stadium Tampa, FL
2003 Albany State 52, Fayetteville State 30 Georgia Dome Atlanta, GA
2004 Shaw 30, Tuskegee 28 Ladd-Peebles Stadium Mobile, AL
2005 Tuskegee 28, Bowie State 26 American Legion Memorial Stadium Charlotte, NC
2006 Tuskegee 17, Johnson C. Smith 7 American Legion Memorial Stadium Charlotte, NC

SIAC vs. CIAA Record: SIAC leads series 7-2

The SIAC is composed of twelve different institutions in five states (Alabama, Georgia, Kentucky, South Carolina and Tennessee): Albany State University, Benedict College, Clark Atlanta University, Fort Valley State University, Kentucky State University, Lane College, LeMoyne-Owen College, Miles College, Morehouse College, Paine College, Stillman College and Tuskegee University. The SIAC also has a provisional member, Claflin University.

The SIAC is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and participates at the Division II level. On an annual basis, the SIAC sponsors six men's championships (baseball, basketball, cross country, football, outdoor track & field and tennis) and six women's championships (basketball, cross country, outdoor track & field, softball, tennis and volleyball).

The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) is an athletic conference consisting of ten historically African-American institutions of higher education: Bowie State University, Elizabeth City State University, Fayetteville State University, Johnson C. Smith University, Livingstone College, St. Augustine's College, St. Paul's College, Shaw University, Virginia State University and Virginia Union University, all working together to set an overall standard of excellence.

For more information regarding the 10th Annual Pioneer Bowl, contact Harry Stinson at (770) 908-0482 or via email at

Source: BC Sports Information and SIAC

Previous Page

  Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumniFaculty & StaffCommunityFullfilling the Dream