Benedict Seal

Benedict College
College DirectoryNewsCommunityContact UsDivSearch

Athletics Department - News

SIAC ANNOUNCES 2006-07 All Conference Teams:
Benedict Men & Fort Valley State Women win SIAC Regular Season Title

February 27, 2007

Tucker, GA  The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference is pleased to announce the 2006-07 SIAC All Conference, All Academic Teams and Superlatives. Leading the way for this year's awards is Natasha Gray, of Benedict College, who took home First Team All Conference honors, MVP of the Year, and leading her team to a second place finish in the SIAC. Latoya Braithwait of Benedict, Shannon Grant of Albany State, Mariah Holt of Kentucky State, and Lokachiran Jamison of Lane took home All Academic honors with at least a 3.7 GPA. Kentucky State's head coach Michelle Clark-Heard took home the Coach of the Year honors. Clark-Heard led turned her team around from a 5-23 record to a 19-8 overall record and a 5th place finish in the conference. Cortney Matthewis of Kentucky State took home first team honors and also Freshman of the Year.

For the men Monyea Pratt of Stillman College led his team to a fourth place finish in the conference, First Team All Conference honors, and MVP of the Year. William Belton (Morehouse College), took home All Conference honors and All Academic team honors. Benedict's head coach Fred Watson led his team to a 1st place finish in the SIAC while taking home Coach of the Year honors for the second consecutive season. Benedict also finished the regular season with the #1 seed in the NCAA South Region. With a great performance in the SIAC Tournament Benedict could host the NCAA regional. Freshman Tauren Moy of LeMoyne-Owen College, who was 7th in the Conference in scoring, took home 1st Team honors and Freshman of the Year.

Student Athletes receiving All Conference, All Academic, and Superlative honors will be recognized during the SIAC Banquet, February 27, 2007 at 7:00 pm at the Boutwell Auditorium. All the SIAC teams will be in action beginning February 28  March 4, 2007 at Fair Park Arena in Birmingham, AL. Tickets are still available. For more information on the tournament please visit

Tie Breaker Procedure

2006-07 SIAC Women's All Conference Team
First Team
Natasha Gray Benedict 5'11 SR Long Beach, CA
Valarie McQueen Benedict 5'8 SR Detroit, MI
Prinsha Williams Clark Atlanta 5'9 SR Mobile, AL
Takesha Riggs Fort Valley St. 5'8 FR Homestead, FL
Cortney Matthewis Kentucky St. 5'10 FR Missouri City, TX
Second Team
Lakeisha Bell Paine 5'10 SO Memphis, TN
Rishaunda Gartrell Tuskegee 5'10 SO Lithonia, GA
Crystal Benton Tuskegee 5'9 JR Rex, GA
Mattie Jones Kentucky St. 6'3 SO Long Island, NY
Bianca Burton Stillman 6'0 JR Miami, FL

2006-07 SIAC All Academic Team
Mariah Holt Kentucky St. SO 3.72 Early Childhood Eductation
Shannon Grant Albany St. SR 3.71 Accounting
Latoya Braithwaite Benedict SO 3.71 Criminal Justice
Lokachiran Jamison Lane JR 3.70 Mass Communications
Akeila Tripp Fort Valley St. JR 3.62 Infant & Child Development

Freshman of the Year:
Cortney Matthewis Kentucky State University

Most Valuable Player of the Year:
Natasha Gray Benedict College

Coach of the Year:
Michelle Clark-Heard Kentucky State University

1st Place Fort Valley State University
2nd Place Benedict College
3rd Place Tuskegee University
2006-07 Men's All-Conference Team
First Team
Monyea Pratt Stillman 6'6 SR Birmingham, AL
Brian Harper Paine 6'10 SR Stone Mountain, GA
Kenny Jones Kentucky St. 6'6 JR Long Island, NY
Leslie Brown Benedict 6'3 SR Louisville, KY
Steven Fluker Lane 6'4 SO Memphis, TN
Second Team
Adrian Comer Lane 6'3 SR Jackson, TN
Andrew Jones Miles 6'3 SR Dallas, GA
William Belton Morehouse 6'0 SR Fairburn, GA
Travon McGruder Albany St. 6'7 SR Augusta, GA
Tauren Moy LeMoyne-Owen 6'0 FR Memphis, TN

2005-06 SIAC All Academic Team
Jermaine Bentley Kentucky St. SO 3.78 Early Childhood Development
William Belton Morehouse SR 3.63 Psychology
Jacarri Neal Lane JR 3.60 Sociology
Paul Nickerson Clark Atlanta SO 3.59 Business Administration
Ray Northern Fort Valley St. SR 3.56 Biology

Freshman of the Year
Tauren Moy LeMoyne-Owen College

Most Valuable Player of the Year
Monyea Pratt Stillman

Coach of the Year
Fred Watson Benedict College

1st Place Benedict College
2nd Place Fort Valley State University
3rd Place Paine College

Source: SIAC

Previous Page

  Prospective StudentsCurrent StudentsAlumniFaculty & StaffCommunityFullfilling the Dream