2013 - 2014

Benedict College is governed by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees. The Board makes a conscious effort to be as representative as possible and includes among its members qualified individuals rep­resenting higher education and the church, as well as business, community leaders, and student, faculty, and alumni members. The Board is assisted in its work by several standing committees.

The Honorable Stephen K. Benjamin
Columbia, SC 29201

*Dr. James B. Blassingame
Sumter, SC 29150

Mr. G. Tyrone Bonds, Vice Chairman
Gurnee, IL 60031

Mr. Anthony T. Burroughs
Charlotte, NC 28255

Attorney R. Jonathan Charleston
Fayetteville, NC 28302-1762

Attorney Valoria Cheek
Valley Forge, PA 19482-0851

Mr. James E. Clark
Columbia, SC 29212

Mrs. Frances Close
Columbia, SC 29205

Dr. Paul W. Drummond
Charlotte, NC 28217

Mr. Vince Ford
Columbia, SC 29202-2266

Dr. Mary Gaffney, President
Mather School National Alumni Association
Washington, DC  20019

Ms. Elsie King Hamler
Benedict College National Alumni Association
Miami, FL  33176

Dr. Willie J. Hill, Secretary of the Board
Simpsonville, SC 29681

Mr. Charlie W. Johnson, Chairman of the Board
Louisville, KY 40210

Dr. Lucy Perez, Assistant Secretary
Bethesda, MD 20816

Mr. Donald Rozier
Stamford, CT 06902

Dr. Harry Singleton, III
Faculty/Staff Trustee
Columbia, SC 29204

Ms. Kimberly Smith
Glassboro, NJ 08028

Dr. Benjamin D. Snoddy
Spartanburg, SC 29306

*Ms. Terae T. Sweeting
Student Trustee
Columbia, SC 29204

Dr. Eunice S. Thomas
Columbus, GA 31906

Mr. William L. Thomas
Las Vegas, NV 89144

*Ms. Sheryl P. Underwood
Sherman Oaks, CA 91423

Mr. Emory L. Waters
Mitchellville, MD 20721-4047

Mr. William B. Whitney
Greenville, SC 29609

Mr. Mack I. Whittle
Greenville, SC 29605

Dr. David H. Swinton
President and CEO
Columbia, SC 29204


Dr. William P. Diggs
Florence, SC 29501

Dr. Milton Kimpson, Vice Chairman Emeritus
Columbia, SC 29203

* New Trustee

Previous Page