Theatre Ensemble Header



When Charles Brooks, musical director and assistant professor of theatre began his search for performers and other crew, he found an ensemble of outstanding talent at Benedict.

Of course with Dreamgirls being a musical production, Mr. Brooks didn't have to look far. Dr. Sean Daniels, chair of the Fine Arts Department and director of bands, is a graduate of Alabama State University, Ohio State University and the University of North Carolina at Greensboro.

Another key player from the Benedict College Faculty in the musical production of Dreamgirls is Dr. Walter Bragg, a professor of music/fine arts. Dr. Bragg is a graduate of Alabama State University, Southern Illinois University and the University of Alabama.

And this dream production couldn't be made real without our star cast that includes the following Benedict students and alumni:

  • Kanika Wenona Davis (Effie Melody White) is a senior from Queens, New York.
  • Roderice Gilliam-Wheeler (Curtis Taylor Jr.) is a freshman from Spartanburg, South Carolina.
  • Thomas Hunter, Jr. (Jimmy Early) is a senior from Columbia, South Carolina.
  • Benjamin Johnson, ( C.C.) is a freshman from Baltimore, Maryland.
  • Leroy Bennett (Marty) is a graduate of Benedict who is employed with Richland School District One.
  • Jocelyn Holden (Michelle Morris, Stepp Sisters, Sweethearts) is a freshman from Sacramento, California.
  • Ashley Elizabeth Williams (Stepp Sisters) is a freshman from Columbia, South Carolina.
  • Ayanna Martin (Stepp Sisters, Sweethearts) is a freshman from Pasadena, California.
  • Felicia Fort (Joann) is a freshman from New York, New York.
  • Marcus Adams (M.C.) is a senior from Columbia, South Carolina.
  • Frederick Gambrell (Little Albert, Dave, Frank, Band) is a junior.
  • Bilal Salahuddin (Tiny Joe Dixon, Wayne, Band) is a senior.
  • Terrence Thompson (Tru-tones, Band, Jerry, Dwight) is a freshman from Manning, South Carolina.
  • Isaiah Reed (Carl) is a freshman.
  • Zarisa Watkins (Stage Manager) is a junior from Fort Worth, Texas.
  • Christopher Sean Charlot (Mr. Morgan) is a freshman from Brooklyn, New York.
  • Yolanda D. Richardson (Security Guard) is a graduate of Benedict.
  • Kamesha L. Colemena (Assistant choreographer/dancer) is a graduate of Benedict from Harlem, New York.
  • Jameila Sherree Craig (Criminal Justice and Biology) is a sophomore.

Other cast members from the local community include the following:

  • Ara-Viktoria Mckinney (Deena Jones) is a freshman at Columbia College.
  • Adrian S. Wilson (Charlene) attended the University of South Carolina.
  • Megan Janell Bryant (Announcer/Movement) is a sophomore at Midlands Technical College.

And last but surely not least:

  • Avah Smith, an eight-year-old student of Brockman Montessori Elementary School.

Previous Page