The mission of the Health, Physical Education and Recreation Department (HPER) is to offer a variety of courses that seek to promote optimal health, wellness and quality of life for members in our com-munities. The department provides a solid foundation for students to enter into their respective program area and/or continue graduate studies.

  • The Public Health program prepares students for professional health, wellness-related occupations.
  • The Recreation and Leisure Services program is accredited by the National Parks and Recreation Association and prepares students to work in Recreation and Lei-sure settings.
  • The Sport Management program prepares students to work in service-related marketing and promotions, facilities management, and sports programming.

The goals of the Health, Physical Education and Recreation Department’s courses are to:

  • provide students with the kinds of learning experiences that will enable them to achieve com-petencies in the field of Recreation and Leisure Services, Public Health, and Sport Management.
  • provide opportunities for actual on-the-job experiences;
  • develop in students the specific knowledge appropriate to influence their behavior toward living an active and healthy life;
  • prepare students for success in graduate schools; and
  • prepare students for leadership positions in the fields of Recreation and Leisure Services, Public Health, and Sport Management.

The Health, Physical Education and Recreation Department offer several courses in both Health and Physical Education that are required for all students.

Contact Us

Contact Name Phone No. Position              E-mail
Dr. Paula Shelby 705-4809 Chairperson HPER paula.shelby@benedict.edu
Barbara Roeback   705-4775   Administrative Assistant barbara.roeback@benedict.edu
Dr.Tami Ashford-Carroll 705-4313 Associate Professor of Public Health tami.carroll@benedict.edu
Dr.Ifeanyi Emenike 705-4436 Professor of Public Health ifeanyi.emenike@benedict.edu
Mr. Henry Counts 705-4410 Instructor of Public Health henry.counts@benedict.edu
Mr. Douglas Elliott 705-4303 Instructor of Sport Management douglas.elliott@benedict.edu
Dr.Daniel Theriault 705-4481 Assistant Professor of Recreation daniel.theriault@benedict.edu

Previous Page