Thursday, November 17, 2011

Columbia, SC ~ The Benedict College School of Honors under the leadership of Dean Warren Robinson proudly brought home the Model African Union 1st Place Award in all categories from the 2011 National Association of African American Honors Programs (NAAAHP) Conferenceheld on November 10-12, 2011 at the Crowne Plaza Hampton Marina Hotel in Hampton, VA. The 20th Annual NAAAHP Conference was hosted by Hampton University, Virginia State University, and Elizabeth City University.

Benedict College's Model African Union Coach, Mr. Willie Black, an instructor of Political Science, and team members won the top NAAAHP award and trophy for "Best Country Delegation and Best Country Representation". Additionally, Professor Stacey D. Reed, English faculty, was elected Vice President of the NAAAHP for the 2011-2012.

The following is a list of student participants and coaches:

2011 NAAAHP Model African Union Team Members:

  • Ana Bermudez, Bridget Starling, Omalade Arojojoye, Winnifer Biegon, Josephia Segbefia, Bianca Frazier and Davon Wilder.
    Coach: Mr. Willie Black, Political Science Instructor

Scholarly Presentations, on various captivating topics, were given by the following students:

  • Hadrien Choukroun, Kendric Boykin, Crystal Brown, Oluwatoyin Alaka, Lashika Bryan, Nykia Johnson, Ashuntai Shuler, Bianca Frazier, and Biasia Sparks.
    Advisor: Ms. Laura E. Postell, Administrative Assistant to the Dean

2011 NAAAHP Debate Team Members:

  • Roshae` Darville, Mary Purnell, Shlynn McKinney, and Sierra Tolson.
    Coach: Ms. Emmie Davis, English Instructor

2011 Honda Challenge All-Star Challenge (HCASC) Team Members :

  • Marcellas Knight, Rose Ndeto, Feven Mulu, Hazel Okwaro and James King. Dr. Ronnie Hopkins, Dean, Freshman Institute
    Coaches: Dr. Worth Hayes, Assistant Professor of History
    Ms. Stacey Reed, Professor of English
    Ms. Tanya Hatton, Head Academic Success Coach, Freshman Institute

Kymm Hunter- 803.705.4519 or
Carolyn G. Wigfall- 803.705.4366 or