On March 6, 2004 in the 2004 SIAC Basketball Tournament, the BC Men's Basketball Team became Tournament Champions by defeating Morehouse College 89 - 86 OT. For the first time since 1979 with the women also crowned tournament champions, the same school has won both the men's and women's basketball tournament championships in the same year. Coach Fred Watson was selected SIAC Coach of the Year. Eugene Jackson on the Men's Team were selected the MVP.

SEE 2004 SIAC Basketball Tournament Results

On Sat., March 13, 2004 in the 2004 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship, the Menended a great season with a lost 79 - 88 to Rollins College (#2 seed) at the Men's South Regional in Valdosta, GA. The Men battled gamely, making up a 43-36 halftime lead and leading briefly in the second half before falling to Rollins. Eugene Jackson led four Tigers in double figures with 20 points. CONGRATULATIONS to the team for a wonderful journey and accomplishments during this season.

*Season Record: 21-8
*Conference Record: 19-4

SIAC Conference Finish: 3rd
SIAC Tournament Finish: Champions

Coach of the Year: Fred Watson 
Freshman of the Year: Joshua Obiajunwa

All-SIAC 1st Team: Rick Lewis and Joshua Obiajunwa
All-SIAC 2nd Team: Eugene Jackson

All-SIAC Academic 1st Team: Malik McCullough and Joshua Obiajunwa
All-SIAC Academic 2nd Team: Jair Perea

SIAC All-Tournament Team: Eugene Jackson and Joel Brown

SIAC Tournament Hustle Award: Pete Asmond 
SIAC Tournament Outstanding Coach: Fred Watson 
SIAC Tournament MVP: Eugene Jackson

Article: "Benedict men claim SIAC title"

The Road through the 2004 SIAC Basketball Tournament to become Champions:

On Thu., March 4, 2004, BC 60 - Fort Valley State Univ 42.
On Fri., March 5, 2004, BC 89 - Lane College 75. (Semi-Finals) 
On Sat., March 6, 2004, BC 89 - Morehouse College 86 OT (Final)

In the 2004 NCAA Division II Men's Basketball Championship at the South Regional in Valdosta, GA:

On Sat., March 13, 2004, BC (#7 seed) 79 - Rollins College (#2 seed) 88.

* NCAA Penalizes Lane College for Rules Violations (February 27, 2008) ... "Vacate all wins in which ineligible players participated."

Head Coach: Fred Watson
Assistant: James Rice
Student Assistant: Jason James
Trainer: Charmane Freeman 
Sports Information Director: Derrick Johnson
Athletic Director: Willie Washington
President: Dr. David H. Swinton